October Update

Hello, everyone! Thanks for sticking around. It’s the fourth day of Freshers’ Week in the UK and I am officially very tired. I have so far managed to avoid any hangovers, but only by drinking very very slowly. It’s an art, I keep telling people, about halfway through the second drink. An art. It takes precision. (I’m not very good at drinking yet.)

Everyone here is lovely, it turns out. ‘Here’ is Cambridge, which halfway explains where I’ve been blog-wise the last nine months. My IB exams were in May, my results were in July, and I spent the rest of the summer recovering. It’s been a long few years, but I adore everything I’ve learnt, and it’s all absolutely worth it to be able to come here. I desperately hope so, anyway. I’m studying computer science, but the lectures don’t start until the day after tomorrow. Why the hell they let me in to do computer science I have no idea. I’m still waiting for them to work out that I’m probably not good enough at, y’know, maths and things to be here. But hey, if I manage to keep it quiet for three years it won’t make any difference, and in the meantime I will get to study absolutely the best course in the world. Or it would be, if Mathematical Methods I weren’t on Saturday at 9am a half-hour walk from my college.

What else? Oh yes, this little beauty comes out today in the US:

(And it’s been out in the UK for a while hereif you fancy a read. I think you do. Go on.)

It’s taken a while, and a lot of effort and false starts, but I finally have a third book for you! It’s called- I think- Eliza, and the second draft of it is with my publisher at the moment. It’s a full-on fantasy tale this time, no pretensions to sci-fi; a story about magic and blood and glass cities and black towers in the sea and slaughter and love and rebellion. I can’t wait for it to be with you soon- I’ll get back to you when we have a publication date, but I think you’ll love it.

Right. Freshers’ fair today. Off to meet my director of studies, and find a choir to impose my singing on…

 

About helenacoggan

Author and semi-professional teenager. Obsessions include Doctor Who, Harry Potter, feminism and writing down the voices in my head. Oh yeah, and technically I'm supposed to be at school, as well. London.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

