Various things.

Hello, everyone. Hope you’re all well. Sorry for the long radio silence- I’ve been fairly busy with various beginning-of-school-term things, mostly waiting apprehensively for the avalanche of work that the year-aboves swear will hit me any day now. So before that happens, I thought I should update this.

The first thing I should say is that I’ve set up a new email address specifically for this blog- or for anyone else who wants to get in contact with me, who I reckon will eventually find their way here anyway. It’s helenacogganwriter@gmail.com (and, in my defence, I put ‘writer’ in the handle only very reluctantly; who are all these other Helena Coggans forcing me to use pretentious Gmail usernames?); if you want to get in contact with me for any reason, please use that one. Needless to say, please don’t be rude and/or hateful, if only because I shall find it highly amusing and I fear you will have thus wasted your time.

The other thing I wanted to do is put up a list of all the things I’m doing over the next few months, because what’s the point in having a blog if you can’t use it for shameless self-promotion? If you’re interested, I’m at the Chiswick Book Festival this Saturday at the Tabard Theatre (which, despite walking past it fairly regularly for the last sixteen years, I have entered only once, surreptitiously, to use the toilet- I’m quite excited about going in there legitimately) at 2:45, talking to Torin Douglas about… things. Presumably. I’m also slightly further away, two weeks later, at the Wigtown Book Festival, at four o’clock on Saturday 26th, doing much the same thing. That, thankfully, is the end of my being on stage on my own (albeit with lovely and knowledgeable interviewers). On the 3rd of October I’m at the Bath Children’s Literary Festival with Taran Matharu and Catherine Doyle, talking to John McLay (3:30, the Guildhall)- all brilliant people; then on the 4th– I’m going to have to get a lot of homework extensions that weekend- I’m at the Henley Literary Festival with the amazing Samantha Shannon, talking about writing and fantasy to Amanda Jennings (11, Town Hall). On the 6th I’m at the Wimbledon Book Festival with Rebecca Morgan and Lindsay Barraclough, talking to Dr James Smythe (4:45, William Morris Tent- I’m in a tent!); and finally, on Sunday 11th, I’m going to the Cheltenham Literary Festival with the fantastic Francesca Haig to speak to Anna James (2:30, The Drawing Room).

It looks far more daunting when written out like that. I am now quite nervous. I’ve got to stop doing that to myself.

Anyway- the last thing I wanted to say is that the paperback version of The Catalyst comes out on the 24th of September. (If you’re at all interested, you can pre-order it here.)

And, that’s it! We apologise for the interrupted service- normal broadcasting will resume shortly.

About helenacoggan

Author and semi-professional teenager. Obsessions include Doctor Who, Harry Potter, feminism and writing down the voices in my head. Oh yeah, and technically I'm supposed to be at school, as well. London.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

